Friday’s Soups

Scarlett RunnerBefore I get to the soups today, I’d like to say a word or two about  Scarlett Runner Beans.

When I was in Ontario, I grew these beans with great success in my garden and loved the decorative value that the plant itself had. They produce a large fleshy edible bean, but at the same time they also had very pretty scarlett red flowers (hence the name). Many people grow these as a pretty climbing plant on a trellis or other climbing apparatus.  Myself, I grew them on tepees constructed from various wood poles, and they would just climb to the top of the tepee and then sort of spill over and down toward the ground again.

Sadly though, I found very little success with growing these or any other beans here on the Lower Mainland. Beans need the heat, and we just don’t seem to get the long stretches of heat that the plants need. My experience with the plants were that they appeared “listless.”   

**NEW SOUP** Scarlett Runner Beans, Fresh Vegetable, and Swiss Chard (gluten free and vegan)

Pork Sausage Masala

Cream of Fresh Broccoli

Leave a Reply

